Hello world!

Welcome to my blog!  Here I’ll be sharing snippets from our family life, including funny anecdotes from the children, recipes, craft projects, day to day happenings, and photos*.

My sister suggested I begin my blogging life with this meme, and seeing as I don’t have any other ideas on how to get this thing rolling, I thought I’d give it a whirl.

Twelve random things about me.  More a list of favourites, really.

ONE  One of my favourite things to do is shop on-line.  This could easily be taken the wrong way.  I’m not addicted to on-line shopping and very rarely do I buy something that we have not budgeted for.  When I need something and I buy it on-line, I enjoy the experience.  I think it’s fun.

TWO  One of my favourite things to own is a dishwasher.  Because of it I am here, not in the kitchen scrubbing dishes.

THREE  One of my favourite things to wear is a scarf.  I’m just discovering the joys of scarves and love that adding a scarf can change the feel of an outfit completely, plus it’s getting rather cool here as winter is drawing closer, and I’ve found that even a scarf made of light-weight fabric can make a big thermal difference.

FOUR  Some of my favourite things to cook are slices.  I love how simple they are to make, and you don’t need to roll them and get messy like you do with many biscuits, and there are so many yummy recipes to try.

FIVE  One of my favourite places to be at the moment is in front of the fire.

SIX  One of my favourite places to visit is a local foodstore, bakery and cafe — The Lott.

SEVEN  One of my favourite things to eat is chocolate.  Plain cadbury milk chocolate.

EIGHT  One of my favourite times of the day is the evening.  Often after dinner my husband will play the piano and the children dance (usually just run around the loungeroom crazy), and then they go to bed and it is quiet.  So nice.

NINE  One of my favourite household chores (are you allowed to call them a chore when they are favourite?) is hanging washing out on a sunny day.

TEN  Some of my favourite people to be with are my family.  Immediate right here and extended far away.

ELEVEN  One of my favourite things to look forward to is our daughter’s fifth birthday coming up in a couple of weeks.  We usually have fairly quiet birthdays, and seeing as we’re so far from family, birthdays so far have been just us.  We’re having a small gathering for Amelia this year.  Afternoon tea with two families.  She is so excited, and I’m having a ball planning the food and decorations.

TWELVE  One of my favourite things to think about at the moment is homeschool curriculum.  We’re planning to begin home schooling next year, and at the moment I’m feeling excited more than daunted.

 *These will be shared privately and will be password protected, so if you would like to see them, please get in touch with me, and I’ll share the password.

15 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Catherine says:

    Wow, you’ve done it. Well done. So good to read

  2. Danielle says:

    Oh my goodness, you were born to blog!!! This is so good — the writing is excellent and it’s fun and interesting and cool and… can you tell I’m excited?!?

    PS. I was at Ben and Hayley’s.

  3. WebberLife says:

    I agree with Danielle! Such a good post! And I love the layout. You’d better give me that password girl!

  4. abbiemt says:

    You’re blogging!! 🙂 Thanks for letting us know!! Your blog looks great, and it was fun reading this post and learning some random things about you! I look forward to reading your future posts, and would love to have the password so we can see your photos!
    x x

  5. Carla says:

    Oooh oooh oooh! You FINALLY did it! 🙂

  6. Amanda and John says:

    I loved reading what you had to say, too. Welcome to the blogging world. 🙂
    I’d love to see your photos, if that’s okay. xxx

  7. Caitlin says:

    Yay!! I was hoping that you would complete the trio of Carey girls blogging!! Would love to see the photos if you don’t mind sharing the password.

  8. Bethany says:

    Me too! But you don’t need to send it twice as we share the same email adsress. You can address the email to the sister you like best. 🙂

  9. Danielle says:

    How does everyone know about your blog? You’re famous so quick!!

  10. Beth says:

    How exciting to see you are blogging! It will be lovely reading your posts, and as someone else said…you write so well! Would you mind sending me the password? Hope you are all well.

  11. Hi Andrea! 😀
    Yay! You have a blog! Awesome! ^_^ I like your first post! 🙂 I’d love to see the photos, if I could! 😀
    Love Emma Ventura.
    xo

  12. WebberLife says:

    When are you going to post again??

  13. BushMaid says:

    Hi Andrea! Thought I’d drop by and say a quick hi since I saw on Danielle’s blog that you are blogging too! I look forward to seeing the awesome things I’m sure you will be posting here. 😀

    Blessings,
    Jasmine R. (or, as mostly known as online, BushMaid. 😉 )

  14. harrietjcs says:

    Andrea! You are online! I would love your password 😉
    My email is harrietjcs@gmail.com
    I hope you and your family are doing well. You’ve just reminded me I owe you a letter – it will be on its way soon!
    Love Harriet

  15. Meaghan says:

    A bit late to the party, but… I neeeeeed your password please! Lovely to hear more about your life 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

